- Reset to latest local commit: This will discard all your uncommitted changes in your local branch. Any local commits that have not been pushed to remote will not be affected.
- Reset to latest remote commit: This will discard all your uncommitted changes and local commits that have not been pushed to remote. It will also pull the latest commits from remote.
Both reset options apply to all files on your branch. You can’t reset or discard the changes in some files while keeping uncommitted changes in other files.
How to reset your branch
Follow the steps below to perform a reset:- Click the name of your branch on the project bar.
- Click Reset branch in the drop-down menu. The Reset branch dialog will open.
-
Select your preferred reset option:
- If you select Reset to latest local commit, the number of uncommitted changes that will be discarded will be displayed. Click the checkbox next to “I understand that I will lose any changes in this branch.”
- If you select Reset to latest remote commit, the number of uncommitted changes and local commits that will be discarded will be displayed, as well as the number of commits that you will pull from remote. Click the checkbox next to “I understand that I will lose any changes in this branch and will pull from remote.”
- Click Reset to perform the reset. Otherwise, click Cancel to cancel the reset.